A long distance flight consumes more fuel than a car running for several years. Some argue that it would be better to discourage people to have non-essential air travel than to limit the use of cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that unnecessary air travel should be banned instead of restricting road transport as vehicles consume more fuel and generate more pollution. I disagree with this statement and the following paragraphs will explain the reasons. The primary reason to limit the vehicles is their frequent usage than aeroplanes. While it is undeniable that air travel over long distances consumes more fuel than running a car for many years, they are used by fewer people and less frequently, so in total they consume less than the daily use of cars. For example, you can see a great number of vehicles running on roads every day, however, there is a limited number of people who can travel to distant areas with limited times. Therefore, only limiting unnecessary air travel is not a wise way to save energy. Another reason is there would be fewer impacts for people to suffer if governments limited the use of cars. There are other alternatives to transport for the public to use, such as bicycles, subways and trams. However, there are no other means to replace planes when travelling to other parts of the world and not all destinations can be easily travelled by road. Our lives will be greatly influenced if there is a restriction imposed on air travel. For example, people who live in Shanghai want to visit Taiwan, there is a cross-strait between the two regions, so air travel becomes an accessible way for visitors. In conclusion, due to the fewer impacts and many alternatives that can offer, compared to stopping the usage of non-essential aeroplane travel, it is better to impose restrictions on road transport instead.