Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Recently, the number of people who take medicines and try to cure themselves without their doctors' instructions has been increasing. In my view, this trend has more disadvantages than its advantages as this development will deteriorate patients' health and treatment results. Firstly, people who take alternative medicines will experience some side effects of drugs. Every medicine has its side effects, such as vomiting and headache. For example, if people try other medicines frequently, while they are in the middle of treatment, they will suffer from the unexpected effects of these pharmaceuticals. Moreover, the initial action of pills will be altered. From my perspective, following the doctor's instructions will be less detrimental to the patient's well-being. Secondly, there is a risk of facing antibiotic resistance among patients who often take penicillin without knowing their results. Nowadays, microbial resistance to antibiotics is becoming more widespread due to the excessive intake of antimicrobial drugs without the physician's recommendation. For instance, if people continue trying antibiotics when they feel sick, there will be no treatment for diseases caused by bacterial infections. Thus, from my point of view, this development will take the public into more serious situations. To conclude, the extended number of people who take medicines instead of visiting their physicians will lead to negative results as they may suffer from the side effects of drugs. Moreover, there will be limited effects of the antibiotics. I believe that people should consider visiting their doctors whenever they feel uncomfortable, instead of using pills they do not know about.