Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Sometimes people believed that it is fair for successful Sport professional to earn more money, though others think it is unjust to benefit more than people in important jobs. In my opinion, I believe athletes justify their earnings because they put their bodies through extreme circumstances. On one hand, sports people sustain lifelong injuries due to the nature of their work. Although they put their body, mind and soul on the line to be successful in their careers, this will also affect their family and friends' psychology negatively. Furthermore, some sports can be a deadly and major example is boxing and car racing. The BBC investigative journal in 2022 discovered that one in every three sustains a form of progressive neurological brain damage. Therefore, they need to earn enough money to take of the damages incurred during their professional life. While I was growing up, we had a neighbour who was a footballer for the local team in Shrewsbury but sustained a back injury and was bound to a wheelchair for life. On the other hand, society thinks that it is unfair because every job has its own hazard, either the amount earned is equal to the athlete or the salary should be proportionate to the nature of the risk. In the medical profession, health workers are exposed daily to several infectious diseases and agents and the hazard allowances are not adequate to treat them if they were affected. These people have kids and family at home and they can also be affected. In 2022 a teaching hospital in Nigeria claimed that an estimated four in every ten doctors die of liver and blood born diseases despite the adequate supply of protective wear. In summary, even though the public has varying beliefs concerning the amount skilled workers should earn and I think sports personnel should earn more due to the extreme physical nature of their work.