More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

It is true that individuals tend to settle down in the city because of its pros and job opportunities; however, living in the metropolis can be a bit difficult, in this essay I will discuss why this might be the case and what government can do to alleviate these difficulties. One of the many reasons why living in a town can cause some hardship is the lack of accommodations and the cost of it, people who move to a city usually have a hard time finding a place to stay, mainly because of the overcrowded neighbourhoods, eventually they end up renting a room for a higher price. Another reason is the traffic congestion and its severe effects on people's activities, it can cause delays as well as the postponement of important tasks. A survey was done in the capital city of Algeria about traffic, and most of the individuals said that they need to get up two hours earlier to arrive at work on time. A plan of action is needed to be taken by the government to fix many of the problems, building houses outside of city centre and more in the suburbs can be one of the long-term solutions for the overcrowded neighbourhoods ' problem. As a result, the prices will definitely be cheaper than the current ones. As for the traffic congestion issue, an immediate solution will be by encouraging people to use buses and trains rather than their own cars, there is, in addition, a long-term solution, adding new subways lines and building sky trains all over the city will for sure eliminate most of the problem. To conclude, it is clear that there are various reasons causing hardships and difficulties that make living in a city difficult, and steps need to be taken by the government to tackle these problems.