Nowadays, many people spend less and less time with family. Why is this happening? How does this affect individuals and their families?

More and more people tend to spend time not for family but for themselves. In this essay, I am going to examine the cause of this phenomenon and its impact on individuals and their families. First of all, due to the growing popularity of social media platforms, young people prefer to communicate through them. This means that when spending a vast amount of time internet surfing, they will be hindered from communicating with their parents and siblings, and they will choose to relate to such a visual world since social media is easily accessible and effortless. One particular example of this is the Facebook application which empowers people with various means of visual communication in order to lure them to socialize through this application rather than physical ones. As for the consequences, teenagers and their families would certainly bear the brunt of this phenomenon in terms of increased crime rates and the loss of family value. In other words, if adolescents tend to spend more time solely and isolate themselves from their parents, increasingly will they be vulnerable to violence due to the absence of protection from their family. For instance, these days it increases the percentage of alcoholism and drug dealing among youth. Moreover, the lack of communication between parents and their children could result in the development of diseases such as depression and behavioural changes. In conclusion, this is a problem of such complexity that no solution is likely in the short term. Additionally, the impacts mentioned above could result from this trend.