Schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the internet, and they can study just as well at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Online learning is becoming hugely popular and especially during this time of the pandemic, most schools and universities only offer classes online. Certain people believe that children can continue to learn online, while others argue that online education cannot offer the benefits that schools provide. Both views will be discussed in this essay. However, in my opinion, learning at school is definitely better than learning online. On the one hand, it is true that online learning has given children flexibility and independence. In order to enhance their learning, students are able to learn their lessons from various resources like YouTube and Google. Apart from this, children have more time to spend on their hobbies and outdoor activities because a significant part of preparation and travelling time is saved. For instance, a child in rural India spends on average an hour travelling to school. On the other hand, school is the place where children learn about the community and social values. Certain social skills like empathy, teamwork and cooperation can only be learned from interactions with peers.These skills will nurture them to become better people in their life. Although online learning can offer theoretical knowledge, gaining a practical understanding is important for some subjects like physics and chemistry. For example, YouTube videos on science experiments can give vicarious experience to students but unless they do the experiment themselves, they will not be able to get a deeper understanding. To conclude, although remote learning looks like a viable option, it cannot substitute the traditional school system because children can only gain subject knowledge online. In order to gain valuable social skills, it is important for children to go to school.