Some people think that governments should change the way individuals live, while others believe they should choose the way themselves. Discuss these both points of view and give your opinion?

Some individuals opine that it is necessary that governments are in charge of their residents' lifestyles. However, this belief contradicts other people's views, who tend to think that humanity needs to stay independent and opt for the way to live on its own. This essay will elucidate both statements and express the opinion of the author. Monitoring and altering the lifestyle of the nation was a common thing back in the past. This measure was usually taken when the lifestyle of residents did not meet the expectations of the authority. Take ancient Greece as an epitome, Haleska king felt totally distraught after taking the throne. He came to realize how weak, illiterate and pathetic his nation was. To fix this and reach prosperity, he enforced the new law system, that deprived local people of any entertainment possible at that time, including theatres and playhouses. Furthermore, the focus needed to be switched to the country's development, academic success and strengthening the national defence. Every citizen aged 5, despite their gender, was obliged to enrol in special educational institutes and learn the basics of military training. Those, who defied the law were sentenced to death. It took Haleska less than a year to reach marked success in academic and military terms. Yet by 345 B.C., the country went haywire and people rebelled for freedom. As a result, 3 months later the country was fully destroyed. Liberty is a crucial aspect for each human. When people are free to choose the way they live, the risk of civil war substantially decreases. However, providing too much freedom can also lead to unwanted consequences. To prove that, Libya witnessed a catastrophic economic decline along with an increase in crime rate after the new president made the use of marihuana legal, considering it a right of people to consume whatever they want to and choose whatever they think is good for them. Considering my own opinion, I hold the view that being free to choose the life you want to live is better than being captivated by the government and obeying the rules because of fright, but only provided that government is able to change whatever brings detrimental effects to the country. To conclude, freedom is the key only when there is a monitor as well. That is to say, governments should not interfere in the life of people despite the negative behaviour and some actions, such as the use of drugs, and weapons. Balance is essential everywhere.