Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education. Do you agree or disagree?

Despite the fact that prison sentences are popular methods in most countries to combat criminal issues, many people believe that the improvement of information and education is more effective in solving these problems. I completely agree with the latter viewpoint for several reasons. Firstly, most crimes are committed by illiterate people, who do not understand the law and their rights, which can lead to vulnerability to victimization. In addition, the illiteracy rate is significantly higher among the prison population than the general one. Therefore, one of the most successful approaches for reducing crime rates is reducing illiteracy rates, which can happen through investment in education. For example, the authorities can set up many training and rehabilitation programs not only for criminals as a punishment, which can help them to make the right choices in life, but also for ordinary people as an educational program, which can increase their legal system’s information, and they become prepared to keep away from situations involving them in the offence. Secondly, I believe poverty and the shortage of fundamental human rights can increase crime rates, which can decline by giving qualified education to the public, which leads to providing jobs for them in the future because well-educated people are more likely to get jobs, which will be sufficient to meet their needs and their families’ ones and do not need to engage in illegal activities to gain more money. In other words, education gives people the safety of a decent job that saves them from the crime path. To conclude, i agree with the statement saying that education is a more effective method against crime. That is because, not only education gives individuals more information about laws but also, can provide better jobs for them.