The gap between the rich and poor is growing. What difficulties does this cause? How can these problems be overcome?

A continuous discrepancy between wealthy people and impoverished ones has always been an acute issue. This essay will provide data on unpleasant consequences that might arise and measures that should be taken not to let that happen. Nowadays society is conditionally divided into two main groups according to their social status. Despite the equality of rights, provided by governments in terms of education and medicine, wealthy individuals tend to have more privileges anyway. To prove that, there are now plenty of private selective schools with astronomical tuition fees. Regardless of brilliant test results, a child is not accepted until fees are covered. As a result, a child goes to a comprehensive one, having much fewer opportunities there for developing his talent and possessed skills. Another aspect to discuss is luxury items, that representatives of the low, and even middle, social class cannot afford. Take Cartier or Rolex products as an epitome, these have already become an indicator of a class you belong to rather than just a watch or jewellery. The average price of Rolex watches is five times higher than those from the mass market, although the quality and design are alike. That is to say, people overpay to show off and illustrate their financial dominance over others. This issue may result in social discrimination, fights or, worst-case scenario, prolonged wars. The first thing that needs to be done to eliminate, or at least mitigate, the gap is lowering fees on private medical centres and educational institutes. If that is not possible, scholarships and bursaries, along with incentives for other services can be introduced for people in need. These measures would broaden the equality of opportunities to the maximum, allowing children to get a high-quality education, regardless of their family income. Considering luxury brands, it is advised that they either make prices more affordable or become banned in the world market. Made-to-measure items can be created by professional jewellers or designers for a far lower and fair price, which will contribute to both consumers and makers. To conclude, a rising gap between rich and poor is a serious issue, that needs to be taken seriously so that it does not turn into critical consequences.