Public health is becoming an urgent issue now a days. some argue that government should create nutrition ad food choice law to improve public health while others believe that it is a matter of personal choice and responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent days, the health condition of the general public is an emergency factor which requires government intervention through a legal framework to determine the nutritional and healthy food patterns of citizens. However, some argue that food selection is the sole responsibility of individuals which I do not agree, with due to a key reason for the growing number of diabetic, high blood pressure and cholesterol patients. The essay is intended to explain both views and my idea on this. To begin, food preference is different from person to person and is decided by different factors such as culture, lifestyle or purchasing ability. For an instance, vegetarians prefer more greeny proteins rather than fishery items whereas sportspersons would like more meaty products or artificial proteins. As another example, the salty and sugary levels of individuals is not similar which exclusively depending on the taste. Therefore, it is the sole preference of people which can not be limited through the constitution. However, a significant portion of the national budget is reserved for maintaining the health sector which is an excessive burden on taxpayers. This has resulted in an increase in the number of noncommunicable diseases in certain countries. For example, over a one- third of the population in Sri Lanka is suffered from diabetes. Thus, the national level policy or a legal framework is essential to shape the foody style. In conclusion, though people argue that food selection is only an individual's responsibility, it has to be controlled by national involvement due to less health-conscious people and to reduce common diseases which leads to an increase in government expenditure.