Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is irrefutable true that art has always been an important subject for ages. Where some individuals consider it vital for children while others think it is not necessary at all. In my opinion, arts should be included in the curriculum as it helps children develop skills which will serve them in their future. To begin with, teaching fine arts at the school level will aid children to develop skills such as picturing their ideas and thoughts. As young children are unable to express their feelings, they will get a chance to do this through drawings. For example, if a doctor needs to diagnose a child's certain mental condition, he gives him a piece of paper and usually diagnoses the problem by looking at the way he draws things. Therefore, such activities should be taught to children at a younger age. On the other hand, many individuals think that teaching arts is nothing but a waste of time. It is mainly due to the reason that nowadays artists are paid very less which doesn't fulfil their needs. Therefore, they look for other jobs in fields such as banking, business etc. Because they get highly paid in other sectors, therefore they prefer studying other subjects rather than the arts. This further leads to a parent who doesn't want their children to go for higher studies in arts. This problem can be minimised if artists get paid properly. To conclude, studying arts plays an important role in bringing out the best in children. Therefore, the art subject should be promoted and be given enough funding so that it can easily be studied and adopted as a profession.