Some people think that the teenage years are the happiest times of most people’s lives. Others think that adult life brings more happiness, in spite of greater responsibilities. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The teenage stage of a person’s life knows no bounds and brings pure joy while adulthood offers freedom, a sense of fulfilment and achievement. Both teenage and grown-up time can be unique and full of blessings for certain people. Thus, a group of people deem adolescence as the happiest part of life whilst others argue that childhood is more enjoyable. The two sides of the argument will be thoroughly analysed and discussed in this essay before drawing a reasoned conclusion. To begin with, most teenagers have no responsibility and have parents to look after their intricacies. Thus they can easily put aside the difficulties of life and enjoy things they are passionate about. At this stage, youngsters have fresh minds, fewer complexities and dreams to follow. Life is yet to reveal its challenges to these young minds. To illustrate, many of my relatives recall enjoying the beauty of life in their teenage more than they do now and I often wonder whether this is the case for me! On the other hand, adulthood is a stage where we have a better understanding of society, economic and decision-making freedom, mature thinking and a sense of achievement. No doubt the responsibilities are high, but the sense of achievement is even greater. Thus life opens many windows of opportunity and relationships to an adult that a youngster cannot imagine. To give an example, the happiness I felt when I fall in love for the first time or kissed my newborn child is unparalleled. To conclude, I believe both arguments have their merits. However, I always believe adulthood is the best time of life. This is because it can make you a zero to a hero.