Some people say that the government should spend money on measures to save languages that few speakers use, while others believe that it is a waste of financial resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are conflicting views regarding whether authorities should fund the preservation of languages that few speakers use. Both sides of the argument will be discussed in the essay, followed by my own perspective on the matter. Those who advocate the protection of minority languages may put forth the following argument. If governments spend money on measures to save the languages, the minority people will feel that they are been valued, thus being more willing to cooperate with other members of society and contribute to economic growth, which can lead to a more cohesive society. Furthermore, the minorities usually use their mother tongue to communicate and celebrate festivals, therefore, the preservation of their languages can help them get an in-depth understanding of their ancestors and history, as well as their cultural characteristics, which can also enhance cultural identity. However, opponents to this way of thinking have their own opinion, which they can also easily justify. It is the government's responsibility to make every individual a better quality of life. Hence, the protection of the language spoken by a few people may influence the development of other public services sectors, for instance, healthcare and the educational system. We may aware of the fact that such languages are more likely to be used in developing countries and underdeveloped countries, such as African Nations, where suffering severe economic crises, their financial resources need to be allocated to other more important sectors, for example, medical and poverty alleviation. In conclusion, based on the above evidence and analysis, the government should devote a considerable amount of budget to promoting the public sector so that improves its citizens’ quality of life, whereas, in my opinion, the great attachment to the importance of the conservation for minority languages should not be underestimated.