Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, children enjoy taking a few hours on their smartphones not only to play games but also to do other activities. This probably happens because few reasons such as easy accessibility and some parents not really restricting them from using smartphones. However, I think this can lead to more negative development instead of positive since children can access inappropriate content and it can diminish their interest in other playing methods. To begin with, children are still vague in choosing what content suits them despite some content being created for children. In addition, they tend to choose the type of activities that make them happy without considering the negative sides. If they watch or play some games without their parents' control, it can lead to brain damage and affect their behaviour. For instance, in children who lost their parent's attention and get stuck with porn movies even in cartoon illustrations, research has shown that their part of the brain which is the pre-frontal cortex might disrupt. As a result, those threats could affect the related brain function if parents do not control their children's activity. On the other hand, children who are addicted to a cell phone with an internet connection might find that this thing is more fun for them instead of playing outside with their friends. For example, we can see that in the present, children often hold their smartphones longer than in the previous era. They tend to spend their leisure time playing with their phone instead of going outside and seeking another activity. Hence, many traditional child entertainments had gone and not being an option because it was not attractive anymore. To conclude, it is obvious that spending many times on smartphones is a bit negative development for children because it can lead to unsuitable content and children might lose interest to grab better entertainment.