Mobile phones should be banned in public places, Up to what extent do you agree/disagree?

In recent years, the excessive usage of smartphones has been a global problem because of distractions, consequently leading to decrease productivity,especially in business meetings. I partially agree that mobile gadgets should be banned in public places. To begin with, the use of phones is now a pandemic issue, where everyone is always glued to and sees the need to own one. Regardless, it shouldn't be completely eradicated because of its importance in emergency situations. For example, a mother in an occasion that has children at home, can once in a while call to check up on her kids and if there is an emergency back home, they can inform their mother for immediate action. In this case, if phones are totally banned, there might be serious consequences at home. Furthermore, smartphones serve as a good source of getting information that may be of importance to the meeting. Although some people might argue that it can cause a lack of concentration in the gathering but it can also be beneficial if one is self-disciplined. For instance, an individual in a business meeting where things about the growth of the company are being discussed, when a suggestion is being made, one can research on the internet to get more insight about what has been said and make contributions. This can help in fast decision-making and quick action. In other words, it increases the growth and productivity of the company. In conclusion, there can be drawbacks to the use of phones in public places but they can also be helpful in emergency situations and a source of information. However, one has to be self-disciplined and focused in order to fully achieve the purpose of the occasion.