In the modern world, more and more emphasis is being placed on the acquisition of practical skills rather than knowledge from text books or other sources. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

It is significant for people to acquire various skills and knowledge in life to get the employee that they desire. However, due to a gradual change in social demands, people tend to seek more practical skills than academic intelligence from reading materials. I will examine both advantages and disadvantages of this current trend in this essay. On one hand, it is undeniable fact that intensive classes to gain useful skills allow students to work at earlier ages. In fact, applicants who already possess some kinds of skills are highly demanded in occupations such as carpenters and beauticians today. Therefore, the students are immediately able to obtain job offers and initiate working as soon as graduating from high school. In addition, they are more financially independent and are able to expend more money on travelling and shopping whereas students who attempt to gain sophisticated knowledge spend more time studying in school. On the other hand, there is a potential negative consequence that the students who take more practical lessons should take into serious consideration. While they are often employed at a younger age, it is quite difficult to change their occupation. In other words, the lack of academic knowledge will become a great hurdle to transferring to a new job. Most companies in Japan require applicants to take an exam called "SPI" to evaluate their level of understanding of language and math. As a result, those who intensively acquire special skills usually have to remain in the same occupation regardless of their will. In conclusion, classes to brush up on a certain skill are useful for those to apply for jobs at an earlier age. However, students need to make a careful decision about what they should learn at school, considering various career opportunities in future.