Some people believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Others, however, believe that governments should make sure that their citizens have a healthy diet. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There exists a widespread notion that one has to have certain conditions to take proper care of one’s health and diet. Should those conditions be created by public authorities or maintained by the person themselves? This essay will list several arguments for both theses and will arrive at a reasonable conclusion. On the one hand, people’s daily food choices definitely lie within their scope of control, determining their well-being in the long term and the short term alike. Thus, if one keeps consuming processed food, it will not take long for them to notice some detrimental effects on their physique and possibly even mental health. In contrast, ensuring a daily intake of wholesome nutritionally rich meals will definitely contribute to the sustenance of a healthy body mass index, as well as mental clarity and focus. On the other hand, the government enthusiastically promotes and facilitates various studies on nutrition, which are then cited and referred to by a lot of food manufacturers. Those producers often tend to interpret those sources of information to their own advantage, eventually not only selling their products but also planting false, potentially harmful beliefs and ideas in consumers’ minds on what healthy foods are. Consequently, that may lead to public distrust in state-funded research, forcing people to turn to independently conducted studies and their own experiences. All in all, even though authorities seek to provide reliable information on the topic of nutrition, it may become distorted and falsified due to the activities of certain food companies. Therefore I strongly believe keeping a healthy diet to be an individual’s sole responsibility, which should be fulfilled by the person themselves.