It is universally accepted that eating too much sugar has a negative effects on people’s health. Therefore, some believe that the government should control the amount of sugar people consume. Others think that it is the responsibility of an individual to monitor their sugar intake. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is a known fact that excessive consumption of sugar can lead to major health issues. Therefore, some people believe that the government should regulate the usage of sugar. On the contrary, others argue that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their health and should control their sugar intake. I tend to agree with the latter argument and will support my opinion with examples. First and foremost, individuals themselves know about their bodies and health better than anyone else. For example, if a person is diabetic and he knows about it and he will not consume excessive amounts of sugar. Secondly, choosing what to eat is a basic human right. No one should control the choice of eating. For instance, if a person’s body is craving sugar he should consume it and no one should limit that choice. On the contrary, by looking at the negative effects of high sugar intakes some people believe that it should be controlled by the government. Government can take certain actions which can make the nation consume less sugar. For example, the government can impose high taxes on sugary products. Moreover, governments can initiate awareness campaigns so that people can become more health conscious and eventually will use less sugar. To conclude, it is an irrefutable fact that excessive consumption of carbohydrates can lead to serious health issues. In my opinion, it is an individual responsibility to control their carbohydrate intake though governments can help through awareness campaigns and by raising taxes on sugary products so that overall consumption of carbohydrates will be reduced.