Write about the following topic: In many parts of the world, shopping is no longer a way that people buy things that they need, and it has been developed into a form of entertainment. What are the reasons for this development? Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the present world, shopping has become a form of enjoyment and self-satisfaction rather than a necessity. There can be several reasons for this change and this essay will explore the reasons for the changes and discuss the positive or negative development associated with it. In the past, people used to go shopping to fulfil their daily needs, however, the concept of shopping eventually has changed a lot. Nowadays, people are going shopping to not for fulfilling their regular needs but rather than passing time in the mall, having some snacks or roaming around. In addition, it is a very common trend that when an individual feels stressed or sad for any reason go for shops to console himself. Moreover, after a hectic,week people usually can go shopping to buy their weekly needs and have some refreshments. From my personal viewpoint, this is a positive development because going shopping can provide self-satisfaction, self-independence and confidence as they can use their money and buy something. On the contrary, there can be some negative developments in accessive shopping which can lead to detrimental effects. Too much shopping done by people is now regarded as shopaholics which I personally believe is harmful to their mental health. Moreover, countless unnecessary shopping is a waste of money rather we can use that money for deprived people or some social work. To conclude, we can come to the point that, shopping has got its popularity but we should not use it as a form of wasting money. Shopping is a necessity, refreshment and enjoyment but we have to keep control of it.