Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As environmental issues increase, more and more debates addressing the cause and effect of it have taken place these days. Especially, in capabilities of solving environmental problems, some believe that it is solely up to the government to improve the environmental situation, while individuals are incapable. I agree with this to some extent, which will be discussed in this essay. It is admittable that the efforts of individuals to reduce their environmental footprint can make a difference. For example, reducing the use of plastic products and recycling are valuable ways of achieving less plastic being produced. If several individuals committed to changing their usage of single-use plastics, such as containers and takeaway cups, it can make a more vast impact and decrease production as a whole. On the other hand, there are far more effective measures that can be implemented by the government to earn a more substantial impact. For an instance, in the state of,California the authority implemented a plastic bag ban, due to the difficulties of the recycling process. Because of the ban, consumption decreased by 77% and forced the public to consider more sustainable alternatives, as they were left with no other option. Furthermore, in nordic countries like Sweden and, Norway the consumer of plastic bottles pays a bit extra as a form of deposit for their bottle at the supermarket, and can later collect it when recycling the bottle through a machine. For that reason, most citizens in these nations make the effort to recycle. This comes to show that the government and businesses can reach more successful results, and within a shorter time period. In conclusion, even though every person can contribute to reducing current environmental issues, bans or laws by the government or businesses can, overall, offer more instant and effective results, so, personally I agree with the given statement.