In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Recently, in order to get customers' attention, businesses often highlight their latest products in their advertisements. However, I believe that it's not a positive phenomenon for our society. To start with, companies have been emphasising the difference and innovation of their newly released items for the sake of encouraging customers to purchase more. For instance, some may go shopping due to the advertisements on TV or phones. Societies are likely to be affected by advertising since they will be attracted by how fancy the new products are. Therefore, people will be driven by the ads to purchase more. On the other hand, I reckon that the way of marketing the items by advertisement is unhealthy. With the impact of advertising, people tend to do some unnecessary shopping. For example, because of the partnership with the celebrity, individuals are likely to buy some luxury items that are not needed or unaffordable. Owing to the advertisement that the populations have received, they often end up buying what they desire instead of what they really need which leads to waste. In conclusion, businesses have put emphasis on their brain new goods to encourage the purchasers. Nevertheless, it is a negative development for our society.