Internet technology means people do not need to travel to foreign countries to understand how others live. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In tandem with the development of the Internet, people nowadays have several new ways to learn about foreign life. While many people assume that the Internet can replace the role of travelling to other nations, travelling in person is still obviously an important way to learn about other cultures. To begin with, e-tourism truly helps people in accumulating knowledge about foreign life. Specifically, there are various kinds of information that individuals can find on the Internet, which helps them expand their knowledge about whatever they want just with an Internet -connected device. Therefore, when people are sometimes curious about life in another country, they can probably search on the Internet a great amount of information about that topic. Especially, the information is shown not only in texts but also in visual descriptions such as photos and videos, which make it easy for information finders to partly imagine and understand the country they would like to explore. A such a convenient way of learning can explain why nowadays more and more people choose to learn by e-travel. However, there are some salient disadvantages of learning without actually travelling to places in person. Firstly, people cannot enjoy integral feelings by travelling on the Internet. For instance, while people can eat food, touch objects or feel the atmosphere around them when going somewhere directly, e-travel does not enable them to get such feelings. Moreover, if individuals want to clearly understand a place, especially the culture there, they do not only need to observe but also interact with local people. Hence, they can see how the locals behave, and live and in return have a deeper experience of their casual life as well as local culture. Obviously, all of these above clarify the opinion that people still need to travel to expand their knowledge. In conclusion, travelling on the Internet or going to foreign countries have both roles to play. The former can help people have a general view but the latter can definitely give individuals thorough knowledge about the nation’s culture.