Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is a fact that in recent times traffic pollution has been a major problem for big cities. This has led governments to ban private vehicles in an attempt to make people use public means of transportation. That measure is highly debatable since many individuals strongly disagree with it. On the one hand, there are people that think forbidding the use of private vehicles in the city centre could have a positive impact on transportation and environmental pollution. For example, by using buses instead of private means of transportation, the working force of cities can avoid daily traffic jams that occur at certain hours. Also, in that,way they will reduce their greenhouse gas emissions since they will not use their cars that often. To illustrate this point more, a single bus shuttle can serve more than fifty humans, which otherwise would be the drivers of fifty cars,motorcycles or trucks. In contrast, there is a portion of the population that believe that commuting with owned vehicles should be allowed since it is their personal choice of preference. For instance, many individuals prefer using their own private vehicle since it is up to them when to begin their route and do not have to wait for the next programmed bus. Furthermore, they might not want to be packed with other humans since there is a risk of getting sick, which could be dangerous for their health. To sum up, the public's take on banning private cars, motorcycles and trucks from the city centre is divided. While some portion of the public believe that such measures could be a relief for traffic pollution and reduce greenhouse gas emissions, there are other groups that value individual privacy and convenience more. After analyzing both views on the subject, I personally believe that banning private transit from already overcrowded cities could be a positive change that would have a positive impact on the public's everyday life and the environment.