Some people claim that it is immoral to exploit animals, and that the government should prohibit using animals for scientific research. In the meantime, others argue that exploiting animals is crucial for allowing scientists to learn more about human biology and health. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is said by some people that exploiting animals is an act of immorality, and that banning using living beings for scientific purposes is necessary. In contrast, others believe that it is essential to exploit creatures to understand more about human well-being. In my opinion, utilizing animals for science is vital to mankind, as long as we do not abuse them. On the one hand, a group of people opposes against animal exploitation because they consider it to be inhumane. For instance, cows in the milk industry are forced to produce more dairy than usual in order to satisfy human’s needs. Moreover, a number of calves are taken away from their mother and shot once they are born. Consequently, cattles live their whole life suffering in fear and pain. I agree with the statement above, because it is selfish for us to take away their lives for little profit. On the other hand, some advocates studying about living beings because they benefit mankind. For example, the cure for many diseases, like smallpox, were made through animal research. Although animals do not gain anything from it, millions of sick people were saved by the use of animals in science. This is the reason why, in my view, animal studies should not be illegal, since sacrifices must be made for the greater good. In conclusion, studies of living beings should be allowed since it plays an important role in medicine. However, measures should be taken to ensure that animals are not exploited against their will.