Nowdays many students have the opportunity to study some or all of their course in a foreign country. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Living in this more and more globalized world, many students have the option to take courses in another country. Though this requires a large amount of money and effort, it would be beneficial in terms of better education and life opportunities. The disadvantages of studying abroad mainly include the high expenses and complex challenges. Students from average and low-income families need to borrow money or take part-time jobs like teaching assistants to support the costly tuition fee and living expenses in housing and grocery. This financial pressure can lead to poor performance in school and continuous anxiety in life. Moreover, taking core courses in a non-native language is doubly challenging for international students, especially when they encounter a fast-talking professor or have to present a project in front of all the students. However, if one can overcome the abovementioned difficulties, he can obtain multiple life-long benefits. First, the advanced skills learned in courses can open doors for many competitive positions after graduation, leading to a better career path. For example, thousands of international students majoring in computer science successfully landed their dream positions in prominent technology companies like Google and Apple. Additionally, studying abroad has been one of the most popular and reliable approaches for people from restricted countries like China to pursue their dreams boldly and freely in countries like Canada and America which welcome immigrants and value liberty. In conclusion, despite the high costs and enormous challenges international students have, the considerable rewards in life and career make investing money and effort in studying abroad worthwhile. Therefore, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.