In many countries, government spent a large amount of money on improving internet access. Why is it happening and do you think it is the most appropriate use of government money?

Massive amounts of the national budget have indeed been used to afford Internet access in many nations around the world. This essay will explain the reasons for this, followed by my opinion on whether it is the best way for governments to spend money. Authorities fund Internet access because of the number of benefits it can bring to the public and the country. Firstly, a good internet connection allows employees living in big cities to work from home or remote places, which can reduce their living costs as the rent is relatively low in small cities, thus improving the quality of life. Secondly, compared to students in cities, those coming from remote areas can obtain a wider range of knowledge through the internet and make up for the insufficient resources of the rural education system. Last but not least, the Internet can promote the growth of the economy. To be more specific, there are no location limitations on completing many things due to the development of the internet, saving our time for transport, so that more people will access the internet for various uses, for example, online shopping. If demand for goods increases, this will boost supply as well as output, contributing to economic growth. More employment opportunities will be generated, so that unemployed people may land a job easily, increasing their income, which can also improve the economy. While it is undeniable that funding internet access is a good investment, there are other more important public service sectors that need to be invested in, such as hospitals and food. Citizens' basic lives cannot be guaranteed in some underdeveloped nations. If spending a large amount to afford Internet access, underprivileged people will have to suffer from a poorer life, which may cause public dissatisfaction with the government In conclusion, based on the above evidence and analysis, admittedly, there are many benefits of investing in the internet, however, from my point of view, investment in other areas related to basic life is more important, and the government should allocate money to these sectors.