Improvements in health, education and trade are essential for the development of poorer nations. However, the governments of richer nations should take more responsibility for helping the poorer nations in such areas. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Better health, quality education and fine economical trade are key factors for the development of underprivileged countries. Affluent societies of the world should lend their hands and take more responsibility for helping other poverty-stricken nations around the globe. Coming from a country with a past history of economical regression, I completely agree with this opinion as I have witnessed how much my country has uplifted its economy because of the support given by the much richer societies. Firstly, most of the lands which are considered wealthy now, are the silent thieves of poorer countries. In the era of British colonization, it is estimated that the British amassed a massive amount of valuables including rare gems, jewellery, diamonds and gold. This eventually resulted in these colonies being forever stuck in the "third world" zone. So there is a moral obligation to help the poorer nations when they are in need as they have played a massive role in the cause of their misery. Secondly, poor countries have a brain drain. A majority of jobs in highly developed nations like the USA are run by skilled workers from less privileged regions. The people with poverty-stricken lands migrate to wealthier nations with hopes of settling down or obtaining higher education. Those people eventually end up working for the richer countries and help in building up their economies. So, if countries like the USA can give scholarships, incentives and jobs for intelligent workers or students in underdeveloped countries, it will help build their economy and trade in return. Finally, so many charities derived from richer states are helping African regions eradicate diseases like HIV, and Ebola in collaboration with the World Health Organization. This has helped millions of lives in those countries. By providing free vaccination programmes, and building hospitals they have formed a healthier population who can give their best to upgrade the country's economy. So, in my opinion, I think that it is crucial to build a better health system, trade, and education in the poorer nations for development and the richer should be responsible for helping them.