Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

In the modern world, there are approximately 773 million illiterate people despite the advancement and spread of education. There are three main causes, and a number of key impacts, which I will outline now. The main cause is probably having parents who are illiterate. Many illiterate parents do not put much emphasis on the importance of education, especially those in remote areas where many people in the older generation have not gone through formal education. Furthermore, they often prioritize work before education and have lower expectations in regards to schooling. The second key cause is unemployment of the educated as many people believe that without the promise of employment, education is not a necessity to them. For instance, in a country where many of the educated are unemployed, there may not be enough motivation for the illiterate to go to school. Another important issue is social barriers such as restrictions on girls’ education in some societies. Recent statistics reveal that two-third of this illiterate population in the world comprises of women. For example, half the adult women in South and West Asia and sub-Saharan Africa cannot read or write. As a result an illiterate person can lead a difficult life in so many ways. Perhaps the main impact is unemployment as individuals with low levels of literacy are more likely to experience insufficient employment opportunities, outcomes and lower income. The inability to find gainful employment can subject one to a life of poverty with poor living conditions. As a result, they often face welfare dependency, low self-esteem, and higher levels of crime. The other main effect could be adverse health outcomes. Without the ability to read and write, it can be hard to read instructions which in some cases may have dire consequences. For example, these people may not learn how to prevent certain diseases or how to get medication for illnesses. To sum up, the causes of illiteracy could be intergenerational, unemployment of the educated and social barriers. The Illiteracy draws a parallel with unemployment, poverty, crimes and poor health.