Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras. In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In an era where everyone embraces modernity, technological advancements are immense and widely accepted, as a result, invasion of privacy is no mystery to anyone anymore. As individuals of all ages own a smartphone, it has become as easy as it gets to monitor the activities of people, and some companies exploit the situation and use it to their advantage for financial purposes. Thus, it's debated whether this certain development possesses any drawbacks and if so, do the pros outweigh the cons? Anyone on social media has experienced a case where someone talks about a particular product, and their social media platform is then filled with advertisements for the mentioned product. This has happened to everyone I know, including myself. On one hand, it can be convenient to have your smartphone personalized to your preferences without you putting in any effort. For example, you need vases and you mentioned this to your friend, but neither of you knows where to buy them. While you're frustrated, your device will automatically show advertisements for vases, which you can easily order with 0 effort. The development of the cell phone tracking system's sole useful purpose to the consumer is convenience. Whereas, on the contrary, a majority of people are hostile toward this technology for understandable and valid reasons. As the name "cellphone tracking" suggests, your everyday devices are watching you, which is excessively unnecessary and horrifying. In addition, many have only started to realize and question this technological development a couple of years ago. Meaning we are being monitored without our consent. Moreover, this is a clear indicator that everything about us is stored and possibly accessed by anyone To conclude, the mere convenience of this tech isn't enough to make up for the invasion of billions of people's privacy. The world is progressing at an astonishing rate, and as a consequence, humans' value of each others' privacy has skyrocketed. Invading and gaining access to our lives without permission is simply unacceptable. It doesn't matter what kinds of pros it brings. Therefore, I conclude that the disadvantages of monitoring systems far outweigh their almost non-existent advantages.