Some believe that traffic problems in cities can best be resolved by investing in urban infrastructure while others feel there are superior solutions. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

When the population of a city exceeds the capacity of the existing infrastructure, it is usually followed by unavoidable traffic issues. While some argue that it can be mitigated by building bridges and underground tunnels, other people believe that there are still better alternatives. This essay will examine both sides and elaborate on why I believe that it is unnecessary to build or renew infrastructure. Building bridges, tunnels, and other accessibility infrastructures can definitely improve traffic circulation of a city; however, it is a costly and lengthy process. If new physical links between two places are designed well, it can boost the efficiency in travels. Moreover, by redirecting some vehicles to the additional accessways, traffic congestions in overcrowded areas can be reduced significantly. However, this solution ultimately depends on the financial capacity of a city, and these new infrastructures also require a long time to be built. Some other alternatives, on the other hand, can be instated almost immediately. For example, encouraging the community to use public transport and promoting a healthier lifestyle by walking over short distances. These solutions do not require many resources and can be done for instance, through government campaigns or speeches. Not only that these methods are cheaper, they also have a chance to be more efficient, and even provide an additional benefit. If the majority of the community decide to participate, the usage of vehicles will be massively reduced and air pollution will also be decreased. To conclude, in my opinion, there are still other alternatives that can be implemented before resorting into huge investment in newly-built urban infrastructure. Not only do the alternatives offer a more cost-effective solution, they also reduce the amount of CO2 produced by vehicles.