We have three important parts of education reading, writing and Math. Some people think every child will benefit from a fourth skill added to the list: computer skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Apart from the three main sets of skills that are taught in the current school curriculum, some people believe that students also need to learn computer skills. For a variety of reasons, I totally agree with this opinion. The first reason is that we are living in the age of modern technology. The source of information available on the Internet is so huge that we can find almost everything we want on it. This means that early exposure to technology in general and the Internet in particular is very likely to help children accumulate both academic and common knowledge. For example, being able to use a computer allows students to access a wide range of websites providing free education, and thanks to this they can acquire deeper knowledge about the subjects that they learn at school. In addition to this, nowadays many tasks in working environments must be performed by computers. The reason is that computers can do some jobs much faster and more accurately than humans, and this improves the efficiency and effectiveness of a company. For example, most organisations require their accountants to enter data in a Microsoft Excel file and use accounting softwares to prepare financial reports. Computer skills are therefore one of the key requirements when applying for a job, which means that the inability to use computers would lead to higher risk of unemployment. In conclusion, I completely agree that it is very important for children to be able to use a computer, and so such skills need to be added to the school curriculum.