Learning English at school is often seen as more imporiant than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Nowadays, it is believed by certain individuals that more emphasis is given to acquiring knowledge of English over regional languages at schools. In my opinion, one should be aware of English because it is a universal language which is accepted worldwide by people of all countries. To begin with, there are multiple advantages to learning English. The primary one is getting a job. To elaborate, if a person gets habitual in English at a secondary level, then one can easily face interviews by large multinational companies. Another key feature is the opportunity to work abroad. Since more people want to apply for their courses and training outside the parent nation, enhancing their English level at institutions boosts their probability of enrolment in the future. In China, for instance, students who have proficiency in English are now to other nations such as Australia,Canada and England for their higher education. On the other hand, local languages ought to preserve in recent years. There are practices which can be followed to secure them. Firstly, a school must have lectures related to local languages in its routine in which attendance of the candidates should be made compulsory. To add on, a final exam need to introduce in each standard to check the grammar of local languages. And, teachers must mark that paper, a mandatory one, of qualifying nature in order to reach the next grade.To quote an example, In Chennai, a state in India introduced a regional language"Bengali" exam and made it compulsory to pass it in order to achieve the succeeding class. In conclusion, without a doubt, learning English is inevitable in modern society but one should not forget the importance of regional languages too. Therefore,an appropriate check and balance have to be maintained by the concerned authorities so that such languages could not escape from the young generation.