People in all modern societies use drugs, but today's youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an increasingly early age. Discuss the causes and some effects of widespread drug use by young people in modern day society. Make any recommendations you feel are necessary to help fight youth drug abuse.

Lately, the rise of illicit drug abuse among youth has come into discussion. Eventhough using drugs is normalized in all modern societies, young generation tends to experiment with legal and illegal drugs even at an early age. In this essay I will discuss the causes and effects of this extensive drug usage among youngsters in the modern society.  Why is the youth more vulnerable to drug abuse? Firstly, the young mind is driven by curiosity. During this stage, they are in need of companionship and feeling superior. So they can easily be persuaded into trying these drugs by strangers or by their own peers. This limitless curiosity may one day become the harbinger of many adverse effects on their life. Secondly, some may use higher dosages without their knowledge and might even loose their life. For instance, fentanyl overdose in the USA has skyrocketed among their youth during the past year and most deaths were in first time users. To prevent the young adolescents from obtaining certain drugs like Oxycodone and Fentanyl, medical presciption system should be introduced to the pharmacies. Then, only the ones who are actually in need will be able to access these types of drugs, not children. Even the legal drugs like cough syrup in large quantities can be harmful too. So there should be proper supervision to find out who recieves the drugs Consequently, if we can arrange a few visits to see drug addicts in reformation centers, we can let students experience repercussions drugs. If we can educate the youth about the drugs such as heroine, methadone, and their respective side effects, then we can reduce the formation of new drug users. Overall, fighting the battle of drug abuse in the youth is getting harder and harder everyday but it is our duty to save them.