Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement??

It is a known fact that a large chunk of the state's budget is allocated to Public Services like Infrastructural Development, Irrigation, Education and Employment. It is unarguable that these are the primary needs of the people but I believe authorities should not only focus on the primitive needs but also on the Arts & Cultural activities of the region. The basic responsibility of any government is to provide its people with essentials like Health, Infrastructure and Education without any compromise under any circumstance. For example, if Public Health is neglected, it will create havoc in the country and can slash the economy too. The example is quite obvious with others like education and infrastructure. So, it is of utmost importance to prioritize the services to promote the standard of life of the public. This does not mean that cultural activities should be neglected completely. They are significant to the community's overall growth. They are not cash cows that generate millions of revenue and hence require a push from the government for existence. As a generalized example, many people enjoy listening to music and watching plays. So, it will not do any harm in promoting the quality of these entertainment activities. To sum up, Governments should focus on providing world-class, state-of-the-art public services to promote the quality of life, besides it is never a waste of money to encourage arts like Music, Painting, Theatre etc to let society get entertained. So, governments should continue to spend heavily on providing facilities and also encourage the fine arts.