Some people think that secondary/high school students should study literature (e.g. novels, plays, poetry) only from their own country. Others say it is more important for students to study literature from all over the world. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, many countries emphasise secondary and high schools to study literature not only from their home country but also from all around the globe. This is because these stories and publications assist students in various ways such as knowledge of other cultures. Although a part of people opine that authorities should only focus on local literature, I do not think in the same way and feel that education in global books and poetries can broaden our perspectives. On the one hand, according to some nationals, if our learner will choose to spend time merely on their own country's literature, they will have more time to give to another subject. To explain, a deep understanding of own culture can tie scholars to their traditional roots which will carry forward to upcoming generations. However, learning global literature can be beneficial for a few generations but there are significant chances of elimination or mixing with another culture in the end. On the other hand, many other groups believe that it will be fruitful for our scholars because they will have more opportunities in future to do business globally if they will be completely familiar with the rituals and customs of other nations. For example, these days, a majority of the masses have businesses internationally even if they are living in their home country and people of guest countries do not see them differently because they already know their culture and do not do anything that hurt their heritage. Therefore, proficiency in other literatures can be advantageous for the economy of the home nation. In conclusion, while a number of people are in the fear of diminishing their history, a large number of others are not only supporting this viewpoint but also assuring that this action will certainly improve the business internationally. Hence, in my perspective, knowledge of international literature should be essential for children so that we can respect other cultures and will trade with each other in future.