In many countries, not enough students study science subjects. What are the causes? What will be the effect on society?

In recent decades it has become less popular to choose to study science. It might be a result of accelerated technological progress and the growing popularity of IT-related professions in the job market, in sharp contrast to science ones. However, there could be negative long-standing consequences for society, for instance, an increasing number of unresolved problems for civilization. It is noticeable that school graduates consider programming and computer engineering to be more prestigious and practical,as almost every company requires these specialists, whereas demand for science specialists has decreased and it is an arduous task for them to find a job with a decent salary. Moreover, for scientists more years of training and self-development are required. For instance, a survey conducted in Ukraine amongst teenagers has shown,that almost 40% of them were aiming to work in IT, while only 5% were going to work in a laboratory. Consequently,all the above-mentioned issues might slow down or even pause scientific progress,as there were not enough staff for performing experiments and even fewer of those,who have outstanding abilities to create new non-standard solutions to existing issues. Additionally,the population might not even be informed about growing threats for it. To sum up all of the above,there is a number of reasons,why the prestige of studying science for the younger generation has declined,which might negatively affect civilization as a whole. Therefore, it is vitally important for the government in cooperation with large corporations and employers in each country to undertake immediate measures to combat the existing problem.