Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is irrefutable that competition plays a crucial role to enhance skills. The majority of people agree with this assertion, whilst others believe that children should learn cooperation to become responsible adolescents. This essay will discuss both views in the upcoming paragraphs before concluding that competition is an essential diet for sharp minds. To commence with the view that cooperation is the crucial personality trait a person should learn. Undoubtedly, it improves the relationship and sense of friendship among youngsters. However, it deters youth to learn new skills and polishing their learned skills, which leads to having less knowledge and reluctance to explore new areas of education. For example, a survey conducted by Cambridge university concluded that those who took participation in any kind of sport have higher general knowledge than those who just want to spend quality time with their peers. On the other hand, healthy competition not only fosters children to learn new skills but also assists them to deal with daily real-life problems. To go deeper, when a student took part in a tournament, he had pressure to excel and by doing so he is training his mind on how to overcome this stress. To illustrate, The Times of Toronto published an article last week which demonstrated that competition among teenagers is a helpful tool to teach them how to cope with stress. To conclude, even though cooperation is an essential skill a child should teach to become a sensitive human being, I believe that competition among them should take precedence as it will support them to learn and explore new skills which assist them to have greater knowledge of subjects. Thus, healthy competition has no side effects.