Some people believe that schools should teach foreign language for primary school children. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Language is one of the essential subjects in schools. Nowadays, some institutions incorporate a second language in addition to their primary school curriculum. In this essay, I will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks of adding language skills. Although, in my, opinion the positives outweigh the negatives. Firstly, there are many positive aspects of including another language in the early development years for children. A number of studies have shown that it can increase cognitive function and support flexible thinking. The research additionally shows it can boost problem-solving, critical thinking, listening skills, concentration and the ability to multitask. On the whole, these are all valuable skills to develop. Secondly, learning another language can also be easier during younger years compared to an adult due to brain plasticity. A child might second guess themselves less when it comes to speaking and pronunciation, compared to an adult who is most likely more conscious and scared of failure. On the other hand, some might argue that a second language can overshadow the learning of the first language. The belief is that it will interfere with the child’s development, and inhibit for example their English skills. That it would for an instance, confuse the child in what language to use and they will start mixing words. However, when this occurs it tends to go away with time. In conclusion, even though there are some unfavourable aspects of early bilingualism I still believe that there are far more positives in terms of long-term benefits.