Making smoking illegal is the best way to protect people from the harmful effects of tobacco. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Imposing a legitimate action is the most effective method to secure citizens from the dangerous side of smoke. I completely agree with the statement and the essay is intended to provide supporting ideas for the statement with other effective methods to prevent the use of cigarettes. Firstly, people must be obedient to the law of the country in any circumstances and at any cost. As a result, they will form their behaviour to avoid smoking and be vulnerable to future legal actions or punishments. For an instance, China has restricted people when releasing dangerous smoke in public places where there are students and elders who will be threatened by nicotine and other harmful contents of the cigarette. Therefore, laws and regulations have been to be implemented to eradicate some concreted actions in society. Secondly, imposing laws is a preventive measure against smoking behaviour rather than corrective once the negative results emerge in society. Then, the negative health consequences will not have emerged once the action of smoking is prohibited. Therefore, imposing a law is the most effective decision that the state can be implemented to avoid the long-term adverse effects of cigarettes. Furthermore, legitimate power is not the only action that the government can consider to eliminate smoking also banning selling cigarettes and creating awareness among users of the side effects are other actions which are to be taken simultaneously. In conclusion, I agree that imposing laws is the best method to eliminate smoking among other several methods including banning the manufacturing of cigarettes and educating vulnerable parties on the adverse side of the cigarette.