The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over two decades, the number of private transportation on British roads rapidly increased to 29 million cars in the year 2000. This situation needs to be taken care of by the government to prevent any problems that can be caused by uncontrolled vehicle ownership. I firmly believe planning a new policy and making improvements to public transport facilities can help to solve this issue. Uncontrolled car ownership is one of the main contributors to the traffic jam that happens in densely populated cities. Consequently, people will have to lose their precious time due to the worse traffic jam. In addition, excessive private transportation will increase the pollution rate due to every single vehicle producing a big amount of emission gasses. For example, Jakarta is categorized as a city with bad-quality air. This happened because Jakarta is still struggling to control vehicle occupancy. There are several ways to tackle this issue, such as enhancing the facility on public transportation and forming an international policy regarding car ownership. One of the reasons why people tend to use their private cars rather than public transportation is that it is not comfortable enough to fulfil their daily-basis needs. Furthermore, international laws also can help to solve this problem because it makes people think twice whenever they have willing to buy new private transportation. To sum up, it is very essential to have a proper international law on vehicle ownership and make innovations to substitute the people's need to use their private cars.