Despite the benefits for health, fewer people today than ever before exercise by walking. Why is this problem? What can be done to encourage more walking?

Participating in physical activities specially walking has several advantages for individuals’ health condition. However, the number of people who indulge in walking is decreasing due to a number of reasons nevertheless there are actions that can be taken in order to tackle the problem. To begin with, one of the vital factors which caused a reduction in the amount of time spent on walking is the fact that public transport system and vehicles such as automobiles offer more convenient and faster alternatives in terms of transporting, although people might spend some time in traffic during the rush hours. For example, employees who work in a Hetrick city drive to work or take a cap. On the other hand since people can place their orders online, they prefer online shopping rather than going to a mall or grocery store which leads in staying at home instead of going out and having some physical activities. For instance, many consumers used to go to Highstreet but now days people use their favorite brand’s webpage to make their purchases while sitting on a couch. One of the steps that can be taken to address the problem is to encourage people to take part in physical activities by offering group activities such as walking challenges. To exemplify “ Samsung health” application can count the number of steps that it’s users take and shows their worldwide ranking which may help people be more active by being involved in a competition. In conclusion, I would say that the convenience and speed of commuting vehicles and technologies like online shopping platforms can lower the amount of time that people spend on walking which can be solved by taking measures like involving individuals in a group activity.