Some people believe that children that commit crimes should be punished. Others think the parents should be punished instead. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, most people think that children should be punished when they commit crimes, while others believe parents should be punished rather than their kids. In this essay, I will discuss both sides and will favour the latter view. On the one hand, people suggest that offspring should be punished due to their bad behaviours. In this way, they don’t repeat their negative actions. For instance, when a child commits a crime such as fighting with peers, parents can give punishment to their kid, including a restriction on video games and meeting with peers. When children get these types of penalties, they can understand that their behaviour was wrong, resulting in them tendency to leave these acts behind them. Also, little ones can learn their every negative action has some consequences. On the other hand, some people believe that parents should get penalties due to being role models for their kids. The children spend most of their time with their family members since they are born, and their parents become the main characters in their life. Therefore, kids tend to imitate their father and mother in terms of their behaviours and moral values. For example, if little one sees that his/her dad screams when arguing with other people, they perceive this act as normal, resulting in copying this behaviour. In conclusion, although some people claim that children should get penalties because of committing crimes, I believe that parents have a majority of responsibility for their kids’ actions due to be role models in their offspring's life.