As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

It is quite common these days for people in many countries to purchase and travel by private cars. I believe that this trend would lead to more benefits for people than drawbacks for the environment. The reason for this trend may involve the recognition that people who live car-free may be rather time-consuming in terms of commuting and travelling to other places. By contrast, those who have spent money purchasing cars or owned private cars might be more efficient to go to work than other means of transportation and have broader opportunities for going to popular spots. They tend to be more relaxed and joyful, which are very important emotion enhancers in this competitive society, as well as giving them an advantage in terms of having more time to cope with other challenges of life. There are, however, some disadvantages. If people drove their cars quite frequently, vehicles would emit a significant amounts of pollutants into the air, resulting in climate change, which can cause extreme weather such as hurricanes and heavy snow. There is no advantage if people burn many fossil fuels. This could use up non-renewable resources so that there are not enough resources in the future for people to use, which is detrimental to maintaining the sustainable development of society. However, these issues can be addressed strategically within the policy adopted. As discussed above, if tens of millions of people tend to purchase and drive their own cars, it will help them save time and enjoy the scenery from different tourist attractions. Although this may also have minor negative impacts, these impacts can be avoided. Thus, I believe that this trend has more merits than deficiencies