The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Science is one of the most important lenses of our world, revolutionising the way we live our lives. It is believed that the utmost priority of science should be to make humanity better in terms of living conditions and its future. It is my contention that although there are numerous objectives listed on the agenda of the field of science to be implemented, the improvement of people's lives should be prioritized over other factors. First and foremost, undoubtedly, it is almost impossible to envision the future of humanity in the event that science is devoid. This is primarily due to the life-altering inventions that were invented through scientific research and investigations. As we live on the edge of technology, making humanity a multi-planetary species is considered the cornerstone achievement in history which has not been realized yet. It goes without saying that with the help of distinctive scientific subjects such as rocket engineering and material strength, a slow but determined step is taken each day, taking us one step closer to our end goal. To exemplify this statement, space companies like NASA and Space X invest billions of dollars into research and development activities to advance rocket technology and ultimately one day carry humanity to another planet and terraform it. Moreover, it is also worth noting that science's footprint in the field of medicine and pharmacy is paramount, therefore, modern scientists should put all their efforts into finding solutions to cure terminal illnesses. Unfortunately, there are a plentiful of diseases that still remain unsolved and no curing method has been found yet. For example, scientists and doctors should combine their efforts and resources to fight off cancer and save millions of people's lives every day. Additionally, instead of selling drugs and medicine to the patients I believe, with the help of science, a groundbreaking achievement can be accomplished in this sector. In conclusion, science's footprint is crucial in our lives and the main aim should always be to improve the lives of humans.