In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Adverts influence society’s choices to a great extent; that is why every business highlights the features of its merchandise through them. In recent eras, it has been observed that companies accentuate their products to be the latest in one way or the other. I strongly consider this trend to be a negative one. The paragraphs below depict my point of view on the same. Firstly, the businesses do this to boost the sale of the commodities, they offer. In their advertisements, they claim that their products are dynamic and new from those offered by their competitors. Additionally, they sometimes advertise that their products come with an added feature as compared to the former one. For example, a shampoo manufacturing company advertise its shampoos to have added vitamins and minerals for better growth and texture of the hair, which is not true. To support the view of this being a negative development, these fake marketing skills, sometimes end up losing the faith of the customers in their favourite brands; hence, instead of a hike in sales, they face a downfall in the sales. Moreover, the research and development work done by a few businesses are often not entertained by customers, due to such fake advertisements. For example, automobile industries spent a huge amount of money and resources for the betterment of their vehicle, which can go in vain due to misleading advertisements from other industries. To conclude, I would say that to soar the sales of the products, it is unethical and unlawful to use fake advertisements and lose the trust of consumers. The industries which do industrious work to bring a better product to the market might also suffer from this trend.