Some people say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries that people travel to . How true is this statement? What can tourists do to reduce the harmful effects of tourism on local cultures and environments? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience

Today people travel far and wide to a different land. Some people believe that this tour and travel have a negative effect on the destination countries. However, I feel this statement is not totally true, as it overlooks the positive impact of this industry. A Conscious traveller and regulated visits can go a long way in reducing the ill effects associated with the environment and local culture. My essay will explain my balanced viewpoint with suitable examples. Firstly, tourism supports the economy in many communities, by generating income opportunities for locals. In addition, it also promotes local handicrafts and acts as an ambassador, for spreading culture across regions. A relevant example can be found in Goa, India where touristry has helped the local economy to grow through hotels, pubs, guides, transport etc. Secondly, it brings much-needed foreign currency to the country increasing dollar reserves. To exemplify, a major share of the foreign currency of Maldives comes from tourism promotion. Moreover, travel has played an important role in the promotion of the aviation industry. It was found in a survey, that a majority of passengers flying to Thailand are travelling for leisure. On the contrary, excessive visitors cause destruction to natural fauna and flora. Unrestricted visits and activity in some places have led to the disturbance of the fragile ecosystem. Some coral reefs in Australia have become endangered owing to excessive tourist activity. So excessive care needs to be taken to avoid overexploitation of the visit-worthy places.To cite another example, the Nepal government had to regulate visitors to mount Everest to avoid the degradation of nature. Thus, it can be conclusively said, that tourism, when promoted in a regulated way, protecting the environment, is beneficial for the host country owing to its strong economic reasons. Tourists have to be careful to preserve nature and ecology and the government should regulate excessive exploitation. In this way, the harmful effects can be reduced to a large extent.