Some cities create housing for growing populations by building taller buildings, while other cities have opted to build on wider areas of land. Which solution is better?

With the growth of population, some people argue that create compact cities in a small area with high-rise building is a good choice. However, the second option is that we can construct buildings on wider area. There are some merits and demerits for this solution which I opt the second option. Constructing skyscrapers on a small area of the land have some advantages as well as disadvantages. Firstly, when there are lots of buildings in a complex structure, people can communicate with each other, and the security of our neighbourhood will increase. That is, they can help together in different situations, and the sense of willing to help other people rise. However, compact city can some negative points, especially in a occuring disasters. In earthquake condition, for example, it is most likely to injure more people in high rise building than houses or one-flat houses. Furthermore, preparing facility and infrastructures in cities with tall buildings is more complicated. On the other hand, I think instructing properties such as building on wide area of land may have more positive points, and with less negative aspects as well. In this way, people can choose their dream house, which usually is spacious by a yard for their children. This houses prepare a good condition for bringing up children. The more the space of city is wider, the more people have Peaceful atmosphere so as to less traffic volume and low air pollution rate. However, the living cost and bills are high because of large area of house. Furthermore, the energy lost is more than compact housing. I think considering the importance of quality of life in fast-paced and hectic lifestyle in contemporary era, persuades people to choose wide cities. Nevertheless, we can utilise some new policies to save energy and remedy negative situations. In conclusion, I believe building housing on wide area is more important and useful solution, because of quality of life and emotion situation. However, living in skyscrapers and high-rise building have some positive and negative points, such as high security and pressure on infrastructures, respectively.