Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

Nowadays marketing campaigns and advertising are quite important in the sales sector and determine a high percentage costumer’s decisions of buying a good, sometimes even more than the necessity of it. Recently the marketing and sales sector has been developing more sorts of advertising which affect directly the customer’s subconscious. Therefore, if we see publicity on a banner, the TV or on social media, our minds are going to save it. This fact could lead people to desire some goods which they do not really need. For instance, if a campaign shows a new fashionable boot with different features like waterproof or warm, even if you have a good pair of boots, because of the advertising you can think the others are better, want them and even buy them. The final evidence that probes advertising creates the necessity of things that we do not need is the sequent point: people have a lot of things in their houses and most of them have been used just a few times. We are living in the era of capitalism and the more we buy the more we want. For example, this is a typical circumstance of Christmas time, when children get big amounts of gifts which finally end up forgotten in some part of their rooms. In conclusion, it is highly important to think before we buy something if we really need the product and not let go of the marketing campaigns. If we buy consciously, we will purchase just products with quality that are going to make our lives better, without wasting money on other kinds of goods.