Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than financial aid. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this present time, the provision of financial aid by developed countries is an inevitable topic. There are few groups that postulate that other types of help are needed to combat poverty. I vehemently agree with this given statement. This essay will expound my point of view and give credible examples. First of all, the most discernible point of consideration is that underdeveloped countries receiving financial assistance will become dependent on these rich countries. To clarify properly, these poor countries will not strive to improve their economy because they know help will come. An optimal example of this is the country of South Africa. The majority of their population is suffering from famine with children dying from malnutrition. Instead of giving financial assistance, aid could be in the form of improving their agricultural infrastructures to help the people grow crops and with that the government can provide food for their people. Another point that is paramount in my belief is the national or domestic conflict that will result if there will be an uneven or questionable use of monetary aid. No one can deny that these situations are unavoidable and instead of uniting the nation, this will just create problems for the government to face. Another point worth considering is that these developed countries will soon ask for favours in return for the financial assistance that they have given. For instance, they will seek sea exploration for their projects and it will be too late to realise that they are now exploiting the marine resources of the country. In conclusion, giving financial support to underdeveloped countries will not help with the nations' problems such as poverty but will just create additional problems. In my opinion, helping is not at all discouraging, however, there are other means to help aside from monetary ways.