Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime.others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for comitting it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment

The rate of committing a crime is on the rise. Some state that we should vary the methods of punishment according to the individual circumstances and motivation to perform criminal activities. In this essay, I will discuss both views and discuss my opinion on the above-mentioned. Firstly, using an approach with fixed punishments will save a lot of time for the policemen and lawyers. With the rising number of criminal cases, it is hard to allocate time to skim through every single criminal activity. Therefore, if we can provide a fixed list of punishments for certain crimes it is easier to process. However, some victims may think that having fixed punishment for specific crimes is unfair from their side. They would want to include their discomfort caused by the criminal to be justified by the law. On the other hand punishment for crime ranges from minor to severe depending on the number of attempts, motivation, and severity. Social service, imprisonment, lifetime sentence, and capital punishment are some of the popular punishments. It is evident that some atrocious activities caused by serial killers can not be punished in the same way as a thief would be punished. For instance, the way Ten Buddy, a serial killer feared by many women in the late 1980s was sentenced to the death penalty as the board of judges believed that there was no punishment that can justify the way he had murdered innocent women. To conclude, in my opinion, criminal offences should take many factors such as motivation, the severity of the crime, individual mindset, and severity of the damage caused to the victim party, into consideration before giving punishment.